Événement passé: Les féministes de la mode avec Norma Kamali et Christene Barberich

Quand : Jeudi 5 avril 2018, 6h30 - 8h30
Images gracieuseté de Norma Kamali et Christene Barberich

Bien que la mode ait parfois été considérée comme anti-féministe, la coupe d'un haut ou le flash d'une cuisse peut permettre aux femmes de décider par elles-mêmes ce que signifie être une femme. Personne ne le sait mieux que Norma Kamali & Christene Barberich. Créatrice de styles emblématiques comme le manteau de sac de couchage et "athleisure", Kamali est devenue l'une des femmes les plus influentes de la mode au cours des cinq dernières décennies. Barberich est la cofondatrice et rédactrice en chef de Refinery29, la société médiatique de mode de vie féminine primée Webby. À ce programme, Kamali et Barberich se joindront au conservateur du Musée Sarah Seidman pour une conversation intime sur l'impact du féminisme sur la mode, passée et présente.

Réception pour suivre le programme.

Ce programme accompagne nos expositions, Mod New York: la mode fait un voyage (à l'affiche jusqu'au 1er avril 2018) et Au-delà du suffrage: un siècle de femmes new-yorkaises en politique (à l'affiche jusqu'au 5 août 2018). Pour afficher plus de programmes de cette série, cliquez sur ici.

À propos des conférenciers:
Christene Barberich
est la rédactrice en chef mondiale et cofondatrice de la société médiatique féminine primée, Refinery29. Elle est également New York Times auteur à succès de Traquer le style et l'hôte et créateur du podcast acclamé, Sans style. Son écriture est apparue dans Le New York Times, Voyage et Loisirs New York chargeur.

Norma Kamali est une innovatrice, une inventrice et une pionnière dans l'industrie de la mode depuis 1967. Sa marque se concentre sur la condition physique, l'autonomisation, la santé, la beauté, le style et l'entrepreneuriat des femmes. Kamali dirige également Stop Objectification, une campagne de sensibilisation dans le but d'inspirer les femmes à se libérer des effets insidieux de l'objectivation en partageant leurs histoires. Lisez un profil récent de Kamali dans Le New York Times ici.

Dre Sarah Seidman est conservateur de la Fondation Puffin de l'activisme social au Musée de la ville de New York et conservateur de Au-delà du suffrage: un siècle de femmes new-yorkaises en politique.

Rejoignez MCNY!

Vous voulez des billets gratuits ou à prix réduit, des invitations à des événements spéciaux et plus encore?

Past Event: Feminists in Fashion with Norma Kamali and Christene Barberich

When: Thursday, April 5, 6:30pm – 8:30pm
Price: $25 & up | $20 for Museum Members
Images courtesy of Norma Kamali and Christene Barberich

Although fashion has sometimes been seen as anti-feminist, the cut of a top or the flash of a thigh can empower women to decide for themselves what it means to be female. No one knows this better than Norma Kamali and Christene Barberich. Creator of such iconic styles as the sleeping bag coat and "athleisure," Kamali has emerged as one of the most influential women in fashion in the last five decades. Barberich is the co-founder and editor-in-chief of Refinery29, the Webby award-winning women's lifestyle media company. At this program, Kamali and Barberich will join Museum curator Sarah Seidman for an intimate conversation about the impact of feminism on fashion, past and present.

Reception to follow program.

This program accompanies our exhibitions, Mod New York: Fashion Takes a Trip (on view through April 1, 2018) and Beyond Suffrage: A Century of New York Women in Politics (on view through August 5, 2018). To view more programs in this series, click here.

About the Speakers:
Christene Barberich
is the global editor-in-chief and co-founder of the award-winning women’s media company, Refinery29. She is also the New York Times best-selling author of Style Stalking and the host and creator of the acclaimed podcast, UnStyled. Her writing has appeared in The New York Times, Travel & Leisure, and New York magazine.

Norma Kamali has been an innovator, inventor, and pioneer in the fashion industry since 1967. Her brand focuses on women’s fitness, empowerment, health, beauty, style, and entrepreneurship. Kamali also leads Stop Objectification, an awareness campaign with the goal of inspiring women to free themselves from the insidious effects of objectification through sharing their stories. Read a recent profile of Kamali in The New York Times here.

Dr. Sarah Seidman is the Puffin Foundation Curator of Social Activism at the Museum of the City of New York, and the curator of Beyond Suffrage: A Century of New York Women in Politics.   

$30 for adults | $25 for seniors, students & educators (with ID) | $20 for Museum members
Includes Museum admission.

Members: To receive your discount, click on the "Buy Tickets" button above, then sign in to your account on the ticketing page.

Groups of 10 or more get discounts; contact us at programs@mcny.org or 917.492.3395.

Accessibility: Assistive listening devices are available and our auditorium wheelchair lift can accommodate manual and motorized wheelchairs (max. capacity 500 lbs). Please contact the Museum at 917.492.3333 or info@mcny.org with any questions.

Join MCNY!

Want free or discounted tickets, special event invites, and more?