REPORTÉ: College Basketball et New York City: The Remarkable Journey

Quand : Vendredi 13 mars, 12h30 - 2h00
Prix: 25 $ et plus | 20 $ pour les membres du musée
Photo de tête du programme Big East
De gauche à droite dans le sens antihoraire: Val Ackerman, Len Elmore, Joel Fisher, Tarik Turner, Shenneika Smith, Ed Pinckney et Andre Barrett. Avec l'aimable autorisation de BIG EAST Conference.

Veuillez noter que ce programme a été reporté. Si vous avez déjà acheté un billet pour ce programme, nous vous contacterons directement.

Au cœur du basket-ball de New York se trouve le Madison Square Garden, l'arène sportive en direct la plus célèbre au monde. C'est également la maison du BIG EAST Tournament, la conférence sportive universitaire de basket-ball qui a lancé la carrière de dizaines de joueurs, femmes et hommes, chaque année depuis 1979. Rejoignez-nous pour un après-midi de conversations animées animées par un animateur sportif Dave Popkin sur The Garden, alias «La Mecque» du basket-ball universitaire; le BIG EAST Tournament en tant que tournoi universitaire de basket-ball postsecondaire le plus ancien du pays au même endroit; et quelques-uns des nombreux grands joueurs et entraîneurs qui ont joué à la fois à la conférence et à MSG.

Panel One (12h30 - 1h15)
- Val Ackerman, BIG EAST Conference Commissaire
- Len Elmore, analyste TV de basket-ball universitaire, smaître de conférences à Columbia University
- Joel Fisher, Vice-président exécutif des événements et opérations de chapiteau à The Madison Square Garden Company


Panel Two (1h15 - 2h00)
- Andre Barrett, ancien joueur de basket NBA et international et ancien de Seton Hall Pirates
- Ed Pinckney, ancien basketteur de la NBA et ancien de Villanova Wildcats
- Shenneika Smith, ancien joueur de New York Liberty, ancien élève de la St. John's et de la St. Michael Academy
- Tarik Turner, St. John's University, analyste collégial de basketball

Comprend une projection spéciale d'un segment vedette du GRAND EST à 40 docuseries.

Ceci est le programme d'ouverture de Ville / Match: Basket-ball à New York (ouvert jusqu'au 18 janvier 2021). Pour afficher le reste des programmes de la série, clique ici .

À propos des conférenciers:
Val Ackerman a été nommée cinquième commissaire de la BIG EAST Conference le 26 juin 2013. Elle a passé huit ans en tant qu'avocate et dirigeante à la National Basketball Association, a été présidente fondatrice de la Women's National Basketball Association et ancienne présidente de USA Basketball. , qui supervise le programme olympique américain de basket-ball masculin et féminin. Elle a également servi pendant deux mandats en tant que représentante des États-Unis auprès de la Fédération internationale de basket-ball (FIBA). Elle est actuellement membre du conseil d'administration de Women Leaders in College Sports et du conseil d'administration du Women's Basketball Hall of Fame.

Andre Barrett est un ancien joueur de basket-ball professionnel américain, dont la carrière a duré 14 saisons entre plusieurs pays de la NBDL (maintenant G-League), de la FIBA ​​et de la NBA. Le natif du Bronx a commencé sa carrière hors concours au célèbre lycée de riz de New York City. Il a également été membre du programme New York Gauchos AAU au plus fort de sa domination sur le circuit national des jeunes. Après une brillante carrière universitaire à Seton Hall University, Barrett a signé avec les New York Knicks en tant que joueur autonome non repêché en 2004. En 2003, alors qu'il était à Seton Hall, Barrett a représenté USA Basketball aux Jeux panaméricains. Il a pris sa retraite du basket-ball professionnel en 2017 et est maintenant directeur du programme de développement du basket-ball des jeunes pour la NBA.

Len Elmore est un journaliste sportif, avocat, éducateur et vétéran retraité de 10 ans de la NBA. À sa 32e saison en tant qu'analyste de basket-ball à la télévision, il a été une voix de premier plan dans les cerceaux universitaires, diffusant des matchs de basket-ball masculin et de NBA de la NCAA pour ESPN, Fox Sports et CBS. Sa carrière de joueur dans la NBA comprenait des séjours avec les Indiana Pacers, les Kansas City Kings (maintenant Sacramento Kings), les Milwaukee Bucks, les New Jersey Nets et les New York Knicks. En 1987, Elmore a reçu un JD de la Harvard Law School, où il reste le premier et le seul joueur de la NBA à le faire. Il a ensuite été procureur adjoint à Brooklyn et a fondé la société de gestion des sports Precept Sports & Entertainment en 1992. Il a été intronisé au Temple de la renommée du basket-ball de New York et a été nommé l'un des 50 plus grands joueurs de la Conférence de la côte Atlantique en 2001 et 2002, respectivement.

Joel Fisher est vice-président exécutif des événements et opérations de chapiteau à The Madison Square Garden Company Il occupe le poste de directeur principal pour des initiatives importantes et supervise deux des franchises les plus durables du Jardin - le basket-ball universitaire et la boxe. Fisher est également responsable d'autres événements sportifs en direct en dehors des équipes de MSG tels que le taureau, la lutte, le hockey universitaire, le tennis et les sports électroniques. Il a dirigé les efforts de la Société pour apporter des événements marquants aux sites de MSG, y compris le plus récemment en 2018, les 60e Grammy Awards et le Big Ten Tournament, et a ramené les finales régionales NCAA Basketball East à The Garden en 2014 pour la première fois en 50 ans. Fisher siège au conseil d'administration de la Garden of Dreams Foundation, du comité de direction de NYC & Company et du 34th Street Partnership.

Ed Pinckney est un ancien basketteur professionnel, né et élevé dans le Bronx. Il a pris de l'importance à Adlai Stevenson High School avant de fréquenter l'Université Villanova pour rejoindre l'entraîneur Rollie Massimino. Pinckney a été élu joueur le plus remarquable du championnat national masculin de la NCAA en 1985, où il a aidé à mener les Wildcats, huitièmes têtes de série, à leur victoire historique sur le très favorisé et rival de Big East, Georgetown Hoyas - une victoire toujours considérée comme l'un des plus grands bouleversements de Historique du tournoi NCAA. Pinckney a été sélectionné 10e au classement général lors du repêchage de la NBA en 1985 aux Phoenix Suns et a joué 12 saisons avec les Sacramento Kings, les Boston Celtics, les Milwaukee Bucks, les Toronto Raptors, les Philadelphia 76ers et le Miami Heat. Depuis sa retraite, il a occupé plusieurs postes d'entraîneur de la NBA, et en tant qu'entraîneur adjoint pour ses Wildcats de Villanova sous Jay Wright, de 2003 à 2007. Il est actuellement scout NBA pour l'organisation des Houston Rockets.

Shenneika Smith, à Originaire de Brooklyn, elle a fréquenté la St. Michael Academy où elle était une vedette nationale. Elle a poursuivi ses études à l'Université de St.John's et a obtenu son diplôme comme l'une des athlètes les plus décorées à porter un uniforme Red Storm, puis est devenue le deuxième choix de repêchage WNBA de St. John's en tant que 25e sélection globale du New York Liberty en 2013. Smith a eu une carrière de joueur professionnel de quatre ans qui s'est étendue sur la WNBA et a joué au Portugal, en Australie, en Turquie et en Espagne. Elle a également été représentante de l'équipe nationale jamaïcaine pendant six saisons, où elle a aidé à remporter un championnat féminin CBC FIBA ​​2014. Smith est maintenant de retour à son alma mater où elle est entraîneure adjointe de basketball féminin depuis la campagne 2018-19.

Tarik Turner est diplômé de l'Université St. John's en 1998 et arrive dans le Queens avec l'une des classes de recrutement les plus vantées de Red Storm dans l'histoire du programme. Il a été un gardien hors concours au cours de sa carrière de quatre ans, aidant ses équipes à participer à deux matches d'après-saison (Tournoi NCAA de 98 et NIT de 95), et terminant dans le top 20 des leaders assistants de tous les temps du programme. Depuis ses arrêts de jeu professionnel en Finlande et au Venezuela, Turner continue d'être un ambassadeur actif pour son alma mater, actuellement membre du conseil d'administration de la SJU (depuis 2017), et est analyste universitaire de basket-ball pour Fox Sports, un commentateur couleur des émissions de radio du Red Storm et analyste pour SNY-TV et le St. John's Television Network. Il est également actuellement directeur général, US Sales Trading, Institutional Equities chez Cantor Fitzgerald - un fournisseur mondial de services bancaires, de conseil financier, d'investissement et de gestion de fonds.


Dave Popkin (modérateur) est un animateur sportif vétéran basé dans la région métropolitaine de New York. Il en est à sa 17e saison en tant que commentateur du réseau radio Seton Hall Basketball (AM 970, SiriusXM) et peut être vu sur CBS Sports Network pendant la saison de basket-ball servant de la voix de la conférence du nord-est (20e année) et sur CBSSports.com comme la voix du CIT (7e année). Popkin gère également actuellement le baseball et des missions spéciales pour la conférence BIG EAST. Popkin a appelé huit sports différents pour CN8 et MSG Varsity. Le diplômé de l'Université de Miami a 19 ans d'expérience de jeu de base-ball de ligue mineure, y compris actuellement pour les Buffalo Bisons - Toronto AAA (7e année). Il a reçu le prix O. Lawrence Keefe pour sa contribution à vie aux médias au programme de basketball de Seton Hall.

30 $ adultes, 25 $ pour les aînés, les étudiants et les éducateurs (avec pièce d'identité)
20 $ pour les membres du musée

Membres: Pour recevoir votre réduction, cliquez sur le bouton "Acheter des billets" ci-dessus, puis connectez-vous à votre compte sur la page de billetterie.

Groupes de 10 personnes ou plus obtenir des rabais; Contactez-nous à programmes@mcny.org ou 917.492.3395.

Accessibilité: Des appareils d'aide à l'écoute sont disponibles et notre monte-charge pour auditorium peut accueillir des fauteuils roulants manuels et motorisés (capacité maximale 500 lb). Veuillez contacter le Musée au 917.492.3333 ou info@mcny.org et posez nous toutes les questions.

Supporters et partenaires

Ville / Jeu est rendue possible en partie par ESPN, la NBA, la WNBA, Clara Wu Tsai et Joe Tsai des Brooklyn Nets et New York Liberty, Elizabeth R. Miller et James G. Dinan, la National Basketball Players Association Foundation, Con Edison, le Fondation Lily Auchincloss et An Anonymous Family Foundation. Soutien supplémentaire fourni par Crystal McCrary et Raymond J. McGuire, Estee Tobaly et Henry Swieca, Marc Lasry, Nathan Romano, Mitchell S. Steir / Savills, Heather et William Vrattos, l'honorable Diana Ayala - New York City Council District 8, Andrea London et d'autres généreux donateurs.

Programmes éducatifs mettant en vedette Ville / Jeu sont rendus possibles par la Fondation Grey.

Ce programme est co-présenté avec Conférence BIG EAST.

Rejoignez MCNY!

Vous voulez des billets gratuits ou à prix réduit, des invitations à des événements spéciaux et plus encore?

POSTPONED: College Basketball and New York City: The Remarkable Journey

When: Friday, March 13, 12:30pm – 2:00pm
Price: $25 & up | $20 for Museum Members
Big East Program Headshot Photo
Left to right counter clockwise: Val Ackerman, Len Elmore, Joel Fisher, Tarik Turner, Shenneika Smith, Ed Pinckney, and Andre Barrett. Courtesy of BIG EAST Conference.

Please note that this program has been postponed. If you already purchased a ticket for this program, we will contact you directly. 

At the heart of New York City basketball is Madison Square Garden, the world’s most famous live sports arena. It is also the home of the BIG EAST Tournament, the college basketball athletic conference that has launched the careers of dozens of players, female and male, every year since 1979. Join us for an afternoon of lively conversations moderated by sportscaster Dave Popkin about The Garden, aka “The Mecca” of college basketball; the BIG EAST Tournament as the nation’s longest-running postseason college basketball tournament at the same venue; and some of the many great players and coaches that have played at both the conference and at MSG.

Panel One (12:30 – 1:15 pm)
– Val Ackerman, BIG EAST Conference Commissioner
– Len Elmore, college basketball TV analyst, senior lecturer at Columbia University
– Joel Fisher, Executive Vice President of Marquee Events and Operations at The Madison Square Garden Company


Panel Two (1:15 – 2:00 pm)
– Andre Barrett, former NBA and international basketball player and Seton Hall Pirates alum
– Ed Pinckney, former NBA basketball player and Villanova Wildcats alum
– Shenneika Smith, former New York Liberty player, St. John's and St. Michael Academy alumna
– Tarik Turner, St. John's University, college basketball analyst

Includes a special screening of a featured segment of the BIG EAST at 40 docuseries.

This is the opening program for City/Game: Basketball in New York (open through January 18, 2021). To view the rest of the programs in the series, click here.

About the Speakers:
Val Ackerman was named the fifth Commissioner of the BIG EAST Conference on June 26, 2013.  She spent eight years as an attorney and executive at the National Basketball Association, was the founding President of the Women’s National Basketball Association, and is a past President of USA Basketball, which oversees the U.S. men’s and women’s Olympic basketball program.  She also served for two terms as the U.S. representative to the International Basketball Federation (FIBA). She is currently a member of the Board of Directors of Women Leaders in College Sports and the Board of Directors of the Women’s Basketball Hall of Fame.  

Andre Barrett is an American former professional basketball player, whose career spanned 14 seasons between several countries in the NBDL (now G-League), FIBA, and NBA. The Bronx native began his standout career at the famed New York City basketball powerhouse Rice High School. He was also a member of the New York Gauchos AAU program during the height of its dominance on the national youth circuit. After an illustrious college career at Seton Hall University, Barrett signed with the New York Knicks as an undrafted free agent in 2004. In 2003, while at Seton Hall, Barrett represented USA Basketball at the Pan American Games. He retired from professional basketball in 2017, and is now the Youth Basketball Development Program Manager for the NBA.

Len Elmore is a sportscaster, lawyer, educator and retired 10-year veteran of the NBA. In his 32nd season as a television basketball analyst, he has been a leading voice in college hoops, broadcasting NCAA men’s basketball and NBA games for ESPN, Fox Sports, and CBS. His NBA playing career included stints with the Indiana Pacers, Kansas City Kings (now Sacramento Kings), Milwaukee Bucks, New Jersey Nets, and New York Knicks. In 1987, Elmore received a J.D. from Harvard Law School, where he remains the first and only NBA player to do so. He went on to serve as an assistant district attorney in Brooklyn and founded the sports management company Precept Sports & Entertainment in 1992. He was inducted into the New York City Basketball Hall of Fame and was named one of the Atlantic Coast Conference’s 50 Greatest Players in 2001 and 2002, respectively.

Joel Fisher is the Executive Vice President of Marquee Events and Operations at The Madison Square Garden Company. He serves as lead executive for significant initiatives and oversees two of The Garden’s most enduring franchises – college basketball and boxing. Fisher is also responsible for other live sporting events outside of MSG’s teams such as bull riding, wrestling, college hockey, tennis, and eSports. He has led the Company’s efforts to bring landmark events to MSG’s venues, including most recently in 2018, the 60th Annual Grammy Awards and the Big Ten Tournament, and brought the NCAA Basketball East Regional Finals back to The Garden in 2014 for the first time in 50 years. Fisher serves on the board of the Garden of Dreams Foundation, the Executive Committee Board for NYC & Company, and the 34th Street Partnership.

Ed Pinckney is a former professional basketball player, born and raised in the Bronx. He rose to prominence at Adlai Stevenson High School before attending Villanova University to join Coach Rollie Massimino. Pinckney was voted Most Outstanding Player of the 1985 NCAA Men’s National Championship, where he helped lead the eighth-seeded Wildcats to their storied victory over the heavily favored, and Big East rival, Georgetown Hoyas – a win still considered one of the greatest upsets in NCAA Tournament history. Pinckney was selected 10th overall in the 1985 NBA Draft to the Phoenix Suns, and would go on to play 12 NBA seasons with the Sacramento Kings, Boston Celtics, Milwaukee Bucks, Toronto Raptors, Philadelphia 76ers, and Miami Heat. Since retiring, he has served in several NBA coaching roles, and as an assistant coach for his Villanova Wildcats under Jay Wright, from 2003-2007. He currently serves as a an NBA Scout for the Houston Rockets organization.

Shenneika Smith, a Brooklyn native, attended St. Michael Academy where she was a national standout. She went on to St. John’s University and graduated as one of the most decorated athletes to ever don a Red Storm uniform and then became the second-ever WNBA draft pick from St. John’s as the 25th overall selection by the New York Liberty in 2013. Smith had a four-year professional playing career that spanned the WNBA and stints in Portugal, Australia, Turkey and Spain. She was also a representative of the Jamaican National Team for six seasons, where she helped secure a 2014 FIBA Women’s CBC Championship. Smith is now back at her alma mater where she has been an assistant women’s basketball coach since the 2018-19 campaign.

Tarik Turner is a 1998 graduate of St. John’s University, coming to Queens with one of the Red Storm’s most highly-touted recruiting classes in the program’s history. He was a standout guard during his four-year career, helping his teams to a pair of postseason appearances (’98 NCAA Tournament & ’95 NIT), and finishing in the top-20 of the program’s all-time Assists leaders. Since his professional-playing stops in Finland and Venezuela, Turner continues to be an active ambassador for his alma mater, currently serving as a member of the SJU Board of Trustees (since 2017), and is a college basketball analyst for Fox Sports, a color commentator on the Red Storm’s radio broadcasts and an analyst for both SNY-TV and the St. John’s Television Network. He also currently serves as a Managing Director, US Sales Trading, Institutional Equities at Cantor Fitzgerald – a global provider of banking, financial advisory, investment, and funds management services. 


Dave Popkin (moderator) is a veteran sportscaster based in the New York Metro Area. He is in his 17th season as a commentator with the Seton Hall Basketball radio network (AM 970, SiriusXM) and can be seen on CBS Sports Network during basketball season serving as the Voice of the Northeast Conference (20th year) and on CBSSports.com as the Voice of the CIT (7th year). Popkin also currently handles baseball and special assignments for the BIG EAST Conference.  Popkin called eight different sports for both CN8 and MSG Varsity. The University of Miami graduate has 19 years of minor league baseball play-by-play experience, including presently for the Buffalo Bisons - Toronto AAA (7th year). He was honored with the O. Lawrence Keefe Award for lifetime media contributions to the Seton Hall basketball program.

$30 Adults, $25 for Seniors, Students, and Educators (with ID)
$20 for Museum Members

Members: To receive your discount, click on the "Buy Tickets" button above, then sign in to your account on the ticketing page.

Groups of 10 or more get discounts; contact us at programs@mcny.org or 917.492.3395.

Accessibility: Assistive listening devices are available and our auditorium wheelchair lift can accommodate manual and motorized wheelchairs (max. capacity 500 lbs). Please contact the Museum at 917.492.3333 or info@mcny.org with any questions.

Supporters and Partners

City/Game is made possible in part by ESPN, the NBA, the WNBA, Clara Wu Tsai and Joe Tsai of the Brooklyn Nets and New York Liberty, Elizabeth R. Miller and James G. Dinan, the National Basketball Players Association Foundation, Con Edison, the Lily Auchincloss Foundation, and An Anonymous Family Foundation. Additional support provided by Crystal McCrary and Raymond J. McGuire, Estee Tobaly and Henry Swieca, Marc Lasry, Nathan Romano, Mitchell S. Steir/Savills, Heather and William Vrattos, the Honorable Diana Ayala - New York City Council District 8, Andrea London, and other generous donors.

Education programs featuring City/Game are made possible by the Gray Foundation.

This program is co-presented with BIG EAST Conference

Join MCNY!

Want free or discounted tickets, special event invites, and more?