Le SIDA à la maison

Art et activisme au quotidien

23 mai - 22 octobre 2017

Une femme soignante et un patient atteint du sida portant un t-shirt ACT UP sont allongés sur un lit et se regardent dans les yeux

Retour aux expositions passées

SIDA à la maison: art et activisme au quotidien

Le SIDA à la maison: Art et activisme au quotidien examine comment les artistes et les militants ont élargi l'idée du gardiennage et de la famille et ont parcouru les enjeux politiques de la vie domestique face à la crise du VIH / sida, du début des années 1980 à nos jours. Dès les premiers diagnostics, l'épidémie de VIH / sida a incité les New-Yorkais à créer de nouvelles formes de soutien social, à identifier de nouvelles batailles juridiques et à explorer de nouveaux terrains artistiques. L'exposition place des peintures, des photographies et des films à côté d'objets d'archives de groupes activistes et de programmes de soutien pour découvrir les histoires privées du VIH et du sida et reconsidérer le gardiennage, le renforcement de la communauté et faire de l'art comme des actes de résistance.

Le SIDA à la maison comprend des œuvres de plus de 20 artistes - connus, émergents et récemment découverts - dont David Wojnarowicz, Nan Goldin, Kia LaBeija, Hunter Reynolds, Hugh Steers, Luna Luis Ortiz, Lori Grinker, Avram Finkelstein, Susan Kuklin, LJ Roberts, et Chloe Dzubilo, ainsi que plusieurs organisations militantes et artistiques.

Susan Kuklin, «Kachin et Michael dans l'appartement de Michael», 1987. (C) Susan Kuklin.

Liste complète des artistes et organisations en vedette:

ACT UP NY, American Civil Liberties Union, Bailey House, Anthea Black, Gavin Browning, Bill Bytsura, Vincent Cianni, Ben Cuevas, Chloe Dzubilo, Liliana Fasanella, Avram Finkelstein, Gay Men's Health Crisis, Carl George, God Love We Deliver, Housing Œuvres, Nan Goldin, Lori Grinker, Alain Klarer, Susan Kuklin, Kia LaBeija, Gin Louie, Yeonjune Jung, Fred McDarrah, Joyce McDonald, Luna Luis Ortiz, Hunter Reynolds, Eric Rhein, LJ Roberts, Ira Sachs, Rafael Sánchez, Juanita Mohammed Szczepanski, Michael Slocum, Lee Snider, Stand Up Harlem, Hugh Steers, Gail Thacker, VOCAL-NY, WAVE (Women's AIDS Video Enterprise), Frederick Weston, What would an HIV Doula Do?, Jeffrey Scott Wilson, Martin Wong, David Wojnarowicz


Sponsors

SIDA à la maison: art et activisme au quotidien est rendu possible grâce à un don majeur de la Fondation Calamus, New York; avec le soutien supplémentaire de Todd DeGarmo, Louis Wiley, Jr., Peter Kinch, Devashish Jain et Marc-Antoine Denechand, Victor J. Vecchiariello, Andrew Solomon et John Habich Solomon, Mike Syers, Sarah Belin-Zerbib, Ralph Furlo, Peter Lease , Steven Stack, Joel Dooling, Alexis Unger, Jonathan Chan, Sari David et Rosa C. Bautista. (au 23 mai 2017)

Remerciements

Le Musée remercie chaleureusement la Fondation Andrew W. Mellon pour son soutien à la bourse du commissaire d'exposition Stephen Vider. Le SIDA à la maison était son projet phare.

Un merci spécial à Visual AIDS.

Histoires détaillées

Rejoignez MCNY!

Vous voulez des billets gratuits ou à prix réduit, des invitations à des événements spéciaux et plus encore?

AIDS at Home

Art and Everyday Activism

May 23 - October 22, 2017

  • 1220 Fifth Ave at 103rd St., Open Daily 10am–6pm

    Back to Past Exhibitions

    AIDS at Home: Art and Everyday Activism

    AIDS at Home: Art and Everyday Activism examines how artists and activists have expanded the idea of caretaking and family and navigated the political stakes of domestic life in the face of the HIV/AIDS crisis, from the early 1980s to the present. From the earliest diagnoses, the HIV/AIDS epidemic has spurred New Yorkers to create new forms of social support, identify new legal battles, and explore new artistic terrain. The exhibition places paintings, photography, and film alongside archival objects from activist groups and support programs to uncover the private stories of HIV and AIDS and reconsider caretaking, community building, and making art as acts of resistance.

    AIDS at Home includes work by more than 20 artists—well-known, emerging, and newly discovered—including David Wojnarowicz, Nan Goldin, Kia LaBeija, Hunter Reynolds, Hugh Steers, Luna Luis Ortiz, Lori Grinker, Avram Finkelstein, Susan Kuklin, L.J. Roberts, and Chloe Dzubilo, as well as several activist and arts organizations.

    Susan Kuklin, "Kachin and Michael in Michael's Apartment," 1987. (C) Susan Kuklin.

    Full list of featured artists and organizations:

    ACT UP NY, American Civil Liberties Union, Bailey House, Anthea Black, Gavin Browning, Bill Bytsura, Vincent Cianni, Ben Cuevas, Chloe Dzubilo, Liliana Fasanella, Avram Finkelstein, Gay Men’s Health Crisis, Carl George, God’s Love We Deliver, Housing Works, Nan Goldin, Lori Grinker, Alain Klarer, Susan Kuklin, Kia LaBeija, Gin Louie, Yeonjune Jung, Fred McDarrah, Joyce McDonald, Luna Luis Ortiz, Hunter Reynolds, Eric Rhein, L.J. Roberts, Ira Sachs, Rafael Sánchez, Juanita Mohammed Szczepanski, Michael Slocum, Lee Snider, Stand Up Harlem, Hugh Steers, Gail Thacker, VOCAL-NY, WAVE (Women’s AIDS Video Enterprise), Frederick Weston, What Would an HIV Doula Do?, Jeffrey Scott Wilson, Martin Wong, David Wojnarowicz


    Sponsors

    AIDS at Home: Art and Everyday Activism is made possible by a major gift from the Calamus Foundation, New York; with additional support provided by Todd DeGarmo, Louis Wiley, Jr., Peter Kinch, Devashish Jain and Marc-Antoine Denechand, Victor J. Vecchiariello, Andrew Solomon and John Habich Solomon, Mike Syers, Sarah Belin-Zerbib, Ralph Furlo, Peter Lease, Steven Stack, Joel Dooling, Alexis Unger, Jonathan Chan, Sari David, and Rosa C. Bautista. (as of May 23, 2017)

    Acknowledgments

    The Museum gratefully acknowledges the Andrew W. Mellon Foundation’s support of exhibition curator Dr. Stephen Vider’s fellowship. AIDS at Home was his capstone project.

    Special thanks to Visual AIDS.

    In-Depth Stories

    Join MCNY!

    Want free or discounted tickets, special event invites, and more?