Événement passé: Performance et protestation dans l'art public

Quand : Wednesday, February 28, 2018, 6:30pm – 8:30pm
Gracieuseté de Kate Gilmore

Artistes de la performance Tania Bruguera et Kate Gilmore tous deux tiennent compte des questions de pouvoir et d'identité dans leur travail. D'origine politique, Bruguera, originaire de La Havane, explore la relation entre l'art, l'activisme et le changement social, souvent sous l'angle de l'immigration. Elle récemment ouvert Tania Bruguera: Untitled (La Havane, 2000), une nouvelle installation au Museum of Modern Art, et vient de recevoir la commande de la Tate Modern Turbine Hall 2018, l'une des plus prestigieuses de l'art contemporain. Gilmore, basée à New York, s'engage avec des idées de féminité, de genre et de sexe à travers la performance, la vidéo, la sculpture et la photographie. Dans cette conversation intime, les deux artistes discuteront de leur passage à la performance comme moyen de critique des questions contemporaines de politique, de genre et de société avec Risà «Wilson, Chef de programme pour High Line et fondateur du projet Laundromat.

Rejoignez-nous pour une réception au cours de laquelle Gilmore mettra en scène «They Call Us a Storm», une performance en direct, spécifique au site. Veuillez noter que la réception aura désormais lieu avant le programme plutôt qu'après, voir calendrier ci-dessous.

Chronologie:
de 6 H à 30 H GMT
- Réception et représentation de "They Call Us a Storm"
de 7 H à 30 H GMT - Conversation entre Tania Bruguera, Kate Gilmore et Risë Wilson commence
de 8 H à 30 H GMT - La conversation se termine et le programme se termine

Ce programme est inspiré de nos expositions Art in the Open: cinquante ans d'art public à New York et Au-delà du suffrage: un siècle de femmes new-yorkaises en politique. Pour en voir plus L'art en plein air programmes, cliquez sur ici; pour plus Au-delà du suffrage programmes, cliquez sur ici.

À propos des conférenciers:
Tania Bruguera est une artiste d'installation et de performance cubaine dont les œuvres font partie de la collection permanente du MoMA et du Bronx Museum of the Arts, entre autres. Son travail explore la relation entre l'art, l'activisme et le changement social et examine les effets sociaux du pouvoir politique et économique. Elle vient de recevoir la commande de la Tate Modern Turbine Hall 2018 à Londres, l'une des plus prestigieuses de l'art contemporain.

Kate Gilmore est un artiste raffiné qui s'appuie sur plusieurs supports, notamment la vidéo, la sculpture, la photographie et la performance. Elle vit et travaille actuellement à New York et a exposé à la Biennale de Whitney, au Brooklyn Museum et au PS1 / MoMA Contemporary Art Center. Le travail de Gilmore est soutenu par \Art, une bourse annuelle qui associe des artistes à des diplômés de Cornell Tech pour créer de nouveaux arts, de nouvelles formes d'art et de nouvelles technologies artistiques. Gilmore est l'artiste 2017 \ Art et les boursiers 2017 \ Art sont Renée Esses et Nishad Prinja.

Risë Wilson (modératrice) est chef de programme pour la High Line, où elle est chargée de diriger une nouvelle phase d'engagement communautaire qui met en évidence les intersections de l'art public, du design et du monde naturel. Elle est également fondatrice du projet Laundromat, qui apporte des programmes artistiques pertinents et engagés socialement aux espaces communautaires de tous les jours.

Regardez les vidéos du travail de Tania Bruguera et Kate Gilmore ici:

Rejoignez MCNY!

Vous voulez des billets gratuits ou à prix réduit, des invitations à des événements spéciaux et plus encore?

Past Event: Performance & Protest in Public Art

When: Wednesday, February 28, 6:30pm – 8:30pm
Price: $20 & up | $15 for Museum Members
Courtesy of Kate Gilmore

Performance artists Tania Bruguera and Kate Gilmore both consider questions of power and identity in their work. Politically motivated, Havana-native Bruguera explores the relationship between art, activism, and social change, often through the lens of immigration. She recently opened Tania Bruguera: Untitled (Havana, 2000), a new installation at the Museum of Modern Art, and was just awarded the 2018 Tate Modern Turbine Hall commission, one of the most prestigious in contemporary art. The New York-based Gilmore engages with ideas of femininity, gender, and sex through performance, video, sculpture, and photography. In this intimate conversation, the two artists will discuss their turn to performance as a medium for critiquing contemporary issues of politics, gender, and society with Risë Wilson, Chief Program Officer for the High Line and founder of The Laundromat Project.

Join us for a reception during which Gilmore will stage "They Call Us a Storm," a live, site specific performance. Please note, the reception will now be taking place prior to the program rather than afterwards, see timeline below. 

6:30 pm
- Reception and performance of "They Call Us a Storm" 
7:30 pm - Conversation between Tania Bruguera, Kate Gilmore, and Risë Wilson begins
8:30 pm - Conversation concludes and the program ends

This program is inspired by our exhibitions Art in the Open: Fifty Years of Public Art in New York and Beyond Suffrage: A Century of New York Women in PoliticsTo view more Art in the Open programs, click here; for more Beyond Suffrage programs, click here

About the Speakers:
Tania Bruguera is a Cuban installation and performance artist whose work is in the permanent collection of the MoMA and the Bronx Museum of the Arts, among others. Her work explores the relationship between art, activism, and social change and examines the social effects of political and economic power. She was just awarded the 2018 Tate Modern Turbine Hall commission in London, one of the most prestigious in contemporary art.

Kate Gilmore is a fine artist drawing on multiple mediums including video, sculpture, photography, and performance. She currently lives and works in New York City and has exhibited at the Whitney Biennial, the Brooklyn Museum, and PS1/MoMA Contemporary Art Center. Gilmore's work is supported by \Art, an annual fellowship that partners artists with Cornell Tech graduates to create new art, new art forms, and new art technologies. Gilmore is the 2017 \Art Artist and the 2017 \Art Fellows are Renée Esses and Nishad Prinja.

Risë Wilson (moderator) is Chief Program Officer for the High Line, where she is charged with spearheading a new phase of community engagement that highlights the intersections of public art, design, and the natural world. She is also founder of The Laundromat Project, which brings socially relevant and socially engaged arts programming to everyday community spaces. 

View videos of Tania Bruguera and Kate Gilmore's work here: 

$25 for adults | $20 for seniors, students & educators (with ID) | $15 for Museum members.
Includes Museum admission.

Members: To receive your discount, click on the "Buy Tickets" button above, then sign in to your account on the ticketing page.

Groups of 10 or more get discounts; contact us at or 917.492.3395.

Accessibility: Assistive listening devices are available and our auditorium wheelchair lift can accommodate manual and motorized wheelchairs (max. capacity 500 lbs). Please contact the Museum at 917.492.3333 or with any questions.

Join MCNY!

Want free or discounted tickets, special event invites, and more?