Événement passé: Magnetic City

Quand : Lundi 17 avril 2017, 6h30

Cet événement est passé.

Photo par Iwan Baan

Auteur lauréat du prix Pulitzer Justin Davidson s'assoit avec un autre urbaniste michelle jeune des villes inexploitées pour explorer New York à travers les perspectives des designers, visionnaires, artistes et écrivains qui ont créé et vécu ici. Le dernier livre de Davidson, Magnetic City: un compagnon de marche à New York (Penguin Random House, 2017) est un guide pédestre de la ville qui propose une approche historique, culturelle, architecturale et personnelle de sept quartiers de Manhattan, Brooklyn et le Bronx. Davidson et Young exploreront les complexités et les surprises qui se trouvent à presque tous les coins de rue - si seulement vous savez où chercher.

Réception et signature du livre à suivre.

À propos des conférenciers 
Justin Davidson
a été critique de musique classique et d'architecture à New York depuis 2007. Avant cela, il a passé 12 ans comme critique de musique classique à Newsday, où il a également écrit sur l'architecture et était un commentateur régulier sur les questions culturelles. Il a remporté un prix Pulitzer pour la critique en 2002 et un prix de critique de l'American Society of Newspaper Editors (ASNE). Il a contribué à The New YorkerW.Voyage et Loisirs, Le Los Angeles Timesardoiseet Salon, et est apparu sur WNYC et NPR. Écoutez un extrait de Ville magnétique lu par Justin Davidson ici.

michelle jeune est le fondateur du Villes inexploitées et professeur auxiliaire d'architecture à la Columbia University Graduate School of Architecture, Planning and Preservation (GSAPP). 

Au large de la page met en lumière les meilleurs nouveaux livres sur les cinq arrondissements. Chaque événement comprend une brève lecture et une conversation entre l'auteur et un commentateur expert. Rejoignez-nous ensuite pour une réception et rencontrez l'auteur.

Co-sponsors

Cet événement est coparrainé par le Département de géographie, Hunter College, Design Trust pour l'espace public, les Gotham Center pour l'histoire de la ville de New York, et Villes inexploitées.

Rejoignez MCNY!

Vous voulez des billets gratuits ou à prix réduit, des invitations à des événements spéciaux et plus encore?

Past Event: Magnetic City

When: Monday, April 17, 6:30pm
Price: $15 & up| $10 for Museum members
Photo by Iwan Baan

Pulitzer Prize-winning author Justin Davidson sits down with fellow urbanist Michelle Young of Untapped Cities to explore New York City through the perspectives of the designers, visionaries, artists, and writers who have created and lived here. Davidson’s latest book, Magnetic City: A Walking Companion to New York (Penguin Random House, 2017) is a walking guide to the city that offers a historical, cultural, architectural, and personal approach to seven neighborhoods throughout Manhattan, Brooklyn, and the Bronx. Davidson and Young will explore the complexities and surprises that can be found around almost any street corner - if only you know where to look.

Reception and book signing to follow.

About the Speakers 
Justin Davidson
has been the classical music and architecture critic at New York magazine since 2007. Before that, he spent 12 years as classical music critic at Newsday, where he also wrote about architecture and was a regular commentator on cultural issues. He won a Pulitzer Prize for criticism in 2002 and an American Society of Newspaper Editors criticism (ASNE) award. He has contributed to The New YorkerW.Travel and Leisure, The Los Angeles TimesSlate, and Salon, and has appeared on WNYC and NPR. Hear an excerpt from Magnetic City read by Justin Davidson here.

Michelle Young is the founder of Untapped Cities and an adjunct professor of architecture at Columbia University Graduate School of Architecture, Planning and Preservation (GSAPP). 

Off the Page spotlights the best new books about the five boroughs. Each event features a brief reading and a conversation between the author and an expert commentator. Join us afterwards for a reception and meet and greet with the author.

$20 for adults | $15 for seniors, students & educators (with ID) | $10 for Museum members. Includes Museum admission.

Attention, Members, to receive your discount, click on the "Buy Tickets" button above, then sign in to your account on the ticketing page.

Groups of 10 or more get discounts and priority seating, email or call us at programs@mcny.org or 917-492-3395.

Co-Sponsors

This event is co-sponsored by the Department of Geography, Hunter College, Design Trust for Public Space, the Gotham Center for New York City History, and Untapped Cities.

Join MCNY!

Want free or discounted tickets, special event invites, and more?