Événement passé: «Aime ou déteste»: art public et controverse

Quand : Thursday, November 30, 2017, 6:30pm – 8:30pm
De gauche à droite: "The Gates II" de Christo et Jeanne-Claude via Wikimedia Commons; Catherine de Bragance d'Audrey Flack, photo d'Iolanda Andrade; «Sunbather» d'Ohad Meromi, photo de Kristof Wickman.

Sur les bâtiments et les trottoirs, dans les parcs et dans les métros, l'art public est soumis à un examen populaire beaucoup plus intense que l'art dans les galeries ou les musées. Rejoignez des universitaires et des artistes de premier plan pour examiner comment l'art dans les espaces publics peut servir de point d'éclair pour des débats sociaux plus vastes, avec:

Audrey Flack, peintre et sculpteur
Kendal Henry, Réalisatrice, Percent for Art
Ohad Meromi, un sculpteur d'origine israélienne qui vit et travaille à New York

Harriet Senie, Directeur des études des musées d'art, City College of New York
Michele Bogart (modératrice), Professeur d'histoire de l'art, Université Stony Brook

Ceci est le programme d'ouverture de notre exposition L'art en plein air: cinquante ans d'art public à New York. Pour afficher tous les programmes de la série, cliquez sur ici.

À propos des conférenciers:

Audrey Flack est un peintre et sculpteur et pionnier du photoréalisme. Son travail fait partie des collections de musées du monde entier, dont le Metropolitan Museum of Art, le MoMA et le Guggenheim. Depuis 25 ans, elle crée des statues monumentales de divinités féminines. La controverse est née en 1998 sur le projet de la ville d'installer sa sculpture de la reine Catherine de Bragance, dont la famille aurait pu bénéficier de la traite négrière, la pièce n'a jamais été installée (cet article récent dans Le New York Times revisite la controverse).

Kendal Henry est un artiste et conservateur qui vit à New York et se spécialise dans le domaine de l'art public depuis vingt-cinq ans. Il est maintenant directeur de Percent for Art. Géré par le Département des affaires culturelles de New York, Percent for Art commande un mélange diversifié d'artistes pour créer des centaines d'œuvres multimédias spécifiques au site dans toute la ville.

Ohad Meromi est originaire du Kibboutz Mizra, en Israël, et vit et travaille à New York. Il a obtenu son MFA de la Columbia University School of the Arts et a exposé dans des lieux tels que le Musée d'Israël, le Sculpture Center et le MoMA PS1. Sa pièce emblématique et rose vif, "Sunbather", actuellement installée sur une médiane de la circulation à l'intersection de la 43e Avenue, a suscité un débat à Long Island City en 2015 (en savoir plus sur la sculpture dans cet article dans Hyperallergic).

Harriet Senie est directeur du programme de maîtrise en histoire de l'art et études des musées d'art au City College de New York. Son livre, La controverse sur «l'arc incliné»: un précédent dangereux?, sur la sculpture "Tilted Arc" de Richard Serra, a été une pierre de touche pour les débats sur le rôle de l'art public.

Michèle Bogart (modérateur) enseigne la culture visuelle américaine à l'Université de Stony Brook depuis 1982. Ses domaines d'expertise sont le design urbain et la culture commerciale et elle est l'auteur de plusieurs livres dont le lauréat La politique de la beauté urbaine: New York et sa commission artistique. Sa livre à venir est appelé Sculpture et Gotham: art et rénovation urbaine à New York.

Rejoignez MCNY!

Vous voulez des billets gratuits ou à prix réduit, des invitations à des événements spéciaux et plus encore?

Past Event: "Love It or Hate It": Public Art and Controversy

When: Thursday, November 30, 6:30pm – 8:30pm
Price: $15 & up | $10 for Museum Members
From left to right: Christo and Jeanne-Claude's "The Gates II" via Wikimedia Commons; Audrey Flack's Catherine of Braganza, photo by Iolanda Andrade; Ohad Meromi's "Sunbather," photo by Kristof Wickman.

On buildings and sidewalks, in parks and on subways, public art is subject to far more intense popular scrutiny than art in galleries or museums. Join leading scholars and artists to examine how art in public spaces can serve as a flash point for larger social debates, featuring:

Audrey Flack, painter and sculptor 
Kendal Henry, Director, Percent for Art 
Ohad Meromi, an Israeli-born sculptor who lives and works in New York

Harriet Senie, Director of Art Museum Studies, City College of New York
Michele Bogart (moderator), Professor of Art History, Stony Brook University

This is the opening program for our exhibition Art in the Open: Fifty Years of Public Art in New York. To view all of the programs in the series, click here.

About the Speakers:

Audrey Flack is a painter and sculptor and pioneer of Photorealism. Her work is in the collections of museums around the world, including the Metropolitan Museum of Art, MoMA, and the Guggenheim. For the past 25 years, she has been creating monumental statues of female deities. Controversy arose in 1998 over the city’s plan to install her sculpture of Queen Catherine of Braganza, whose family may have benefited from the slave trade, the piece was never installed (this recent article in The New York Times revisits the controversy).  

Kendal Henry is an artist and curator who lives in New York City and has specialized in the field of public art for the past twenty five years. He now serves as the Director of Percent for Art. Managed by New York City’s Department of Cultural Affairs, Percent for Art commissions a diverse mix of artists to create hundreds of multi-media site-specific works throughout the city.

Ohad Meromi is from Kibbutz Mizra, Israel, and lives and works in New York. He received his MFA from Columbia University School of the Arts and has exhibited at venues including The Israel Museum, Sculpture Center, and MoMA PS1. His iconic, bright pink piece, "Sunbather," currently installed on a traffic median at the intersection of 43rd Avenue, elicited debate in Long Island City in 2015 (read more about the sculpture in this article in Hyperallergic). 

Harriet Senie is director of the Masters program in Art History and Art Museum Studies at City College of New York. Her book, The 'Tilted Arc' Controversy: Dangerous Precedent?, on Richard Serra’s "Tilted Arc" sculpture, has been a touchstone for debates over the role of public art.

Michele Bogart (moderator) has taught American visual culture studies at Stony Brook University since 1982. Her areas of expertise are urban design and commercial culture and she has authored several books including the prizewinning The Politics of Urban Beauty: New York and Its Art Commission. Her forthcoming book is called Sculpture and Gotham: Art and Urban Renewal in New York City.

$20 for adults | $15 for seniors, students & educators (with ID) | $10 for Museum members
Includes Museum admission.

Attention, Members, to receive your discount, click on the "Buy Tickets" button above, then sign in to your account on the ticketing page.

Groups of 10 or more get discounts and priority seating, email or call us at programs@mcny.org or 917-492-3395.

Assistive listening devices are available during our events. Our auditorium can accommodate manual, electric, and motorized wheelchairs. Please contact the Public Programs Department at 917.492.3395 or programs@mcny.org with any questions or concerns. 

Join MCNY!

Want free or discounted tickets, special event invites, and more?