Événement passé: Le creuset de la créativité avec Anthony Alofsin et Patti Smith

Quand : Mercredi, octobre 16, 2019, 6: 30pm
Patti Smith, Anthony Alofsin
Patti Smith, crédit image: Edward Mapplethorpe; Anthony Alofsin

Veuillez noter que cet événement est maintenant complet. Il y aura une liste d'attente à partir de 5 h 45 le soir du programme. Tous les sièges supplémentaires seront libérés à 6 h 35 dans l'ordre dans lequel les noms ont été reçus. Vous devez être physiquement présent lorsque votre nom est appelé ou votre place sera perdue. Nous ne garantissons pas que des sièges deviendront disponibles. Les retardataires peuvent être assis dans un théâtre à débordement. 

"Je peux penser à plusieurs endroits plus souhaitables dans le monde pour construire (ce) grand musée mais nous devrons essayer New York", a écrit Frank Lloyd Wright à propos du Guggenheim.

Architecte et auteur Antoine Alofsin s'assoit pour une conversation avec un écrivain, un interprète et un artiste visuel de renom Patti Smith sur le passé, le présent et l'avenir de New York en tant que foyer de créativité. Les deux examineront comment la ville sert d'incubateur pour l'innovation à travers le prisme de la relation tendue mais finalement déterminante pour la carrière de l'architecte acclamé Frank Lloyd Wright avec NYC, sujet du nouveau livre d'Alofsin Wright et New York: la création de l'architecte américain.

Réception à suivre.

* Veuillez noter que Patti Smith rejoindra Anthony Alofsin à la table des signatures mais elle ne signera pas de livres. nous nécessaire que si vous faites la queue pour la signature, vous avez acheté une copie de Wright à New York (ou apporté votre propre copie).

Tous les profits des billets soutiennent les expositions et les programmes du Museum of the City of New York.

À propos des conférenciers: 
Dr Anthony Alofsin, FAIA, est un architecte et historien de l'art, connu internationalement comme un expert de Frank Lloyd Wright. Il est l'auteur ou l'éditeur de 15 livres, dont Frank Lloyd Wright: les années perdues et plus récemment, Wright et New York: la création de l'architecte américain (Yale University Press, 2019). En plus des études sur Wright, les livres d'Alofsin couvrent des sujets allant de l'histoire de l'enseignement du design à l'architecture d'Europe centrale. Alofsin a été nommé membre de l'American Institute of Architects, trois fois membre de la MacDowell Colony et Ailsa Mellon Bruce Senior Fellow à la National Gallery of Art, Center for Advanced Studies in the Visual Arts. Il a reçu le prix Wright Spirit du Frank Lloyd Wright Building Conservancy. Il pratique et enseigne à Austin, au Texas, où il est professeur d'architecture Roland Gommel Roessner Centennial.

Patti Smith est écrivain, interprète et artiste visuel. Son enregistrement, Horses, le premier de treize, a été intronisé au Registre national d'enregistrement à la Bibliothèque du Congrès de 2010. Elle a été nominée quatre fois aux Grammy Awards et a été nominée aux Golden Globe pour la chanson La pitié est du film NoéSes mémoires acclamés, Juste des enfants, relatant son amitié avec l'artiste Robert Mapplethorpe, a reçu le National Book Award 2010. Ses autres livres incluent Mer de Corail, Collecte de Laine, Auguries d'Innocence, Train M, Dévotion à ces émotions et de L'année du Singe. Intronisé au Temple de la renommée du rock and roll en 2007, Smith détient également l'honneur de commandeur des Arts et des Lettres de la République de France. Elle a été honorée par l'ASCAP avec le Founders Award, représentant l'accomplissement de toute une vie, et est la récipiendaire du Polar Award de la Suède, une reconnaissance internationale pour des réalisations importantes en musique.

Rejoignez MCNY!

Vous voulez des billets gratuits ou à prix réduit, des invitations à des événements spéciaux et plus encore?

Past Event: The Crucible of Creativity with Anthony Alofsin & Patti Smith

When: Wednesday, October 16, 6:30pm – 8:30pm
Price: Sold out!
Patti Smith, Anthony Alofsin
Patti Smith, image credit: Edward Mapplethorpe; Anthony Alofsin

Please note that this event is now sold out. There will be a wait list starting at 5:45 pm on the night of the program. Any additional seats will be released at 6:35 pm in the order the names were received. You must be physically present when your name is called or your place will be forfeited. We do not guarantee that any seats will become available. Latecomers may be seated in an overflow theater. 

"I can think of several more desirable places in the world to build (this) great museum but we will have to try New York," Frank Lloyd Wright wrote of the Guggenheim.

Architect and author Anthony Alofsin sits down for a conversation with acclaimed writer, performer, and visual artist Patti Smith about the past, present, and future of New York City as a hotbed for creativity. The two will consider how the city serves as an incubator for innovation through the lens of acclaimed architect Frank Lloyd Wright’s fraught but ultimately career-defining relationship with NYC, the subject of Alofsin's new book Wright and New York: The Making of America’s Architect.

Reception to follow.

*Please note that Patti Smith will join Anthony Alofsin at the signing table but she will not be signing books. We request that if you get in line for the signing you have purchased a copy of Wright in New York (or brought your own copy).

All ticket proceeds support the Museum of the City of New York’s exhibitions and programs.

About the Speakers: 
Dr. Anthony Alofsin, FAIA, is an architect and art historian, known internationally as an expert on Frank Lloyd Wright. He is the author or editor of 15 books, including Frank Lloyd Wright: The Lost Years and, most recently, Wright and New York: the Making of America's Architect (Yale University Press, 2019). In addition to studies on Wright, Alofsin's books cover subjects from the history of design education to Central European Architecture. Alofsin has been named a Fellow of the American Institute of Architects, a three-time Fellow of the MacDowell Colony, and Ailsa Mellon Bruce Senior Fellow at the National Gallery of Art, Center for Advanced Studies in the Visual Arts. He received the Wright Spirit Award from the Frank Lloyd Wright Building Conservancy. He practices and teaches in Austin, Texas where he is the Roland Gommel Roessner Centennial Professor of Architecture.

Patti Smith is a writer, performer, and visual artist. Her recording, Horses, the first of thirteen, was inducted into the National Recording Registry at the Library of Congress in 2010. She is a four-time Grammy nominee and was a Golden Globe nominee for the song Mercy Is from the film NoahHer acclaimed memoir, Just Kids, chronicling her friendship with artist Robert Mapplethorpe, received the 2010 National Book Award. Her other books include Coral Sea, Woolgathering, Auguries of Innocence, M Train, Devotion and Year of the Monkey. A 2007 Rock and Roll Hall of Fame inductee, Smith also holds the honor of Commandeur des Arts et des Lettres from the Republic of France. She was honored by ASCAP with the Founders Award, representing lifetime achievement, and is the recipient of Sweden’s Polar Award, an international acknowledgment for significant achievements in music.

$60 General Admission
 

Members: To receive your discount, click on the "Buy Tickets" button above, then sign in to your account on the ticketing page.

Accessibility: Assistive listening devices are available and our auditorium wheelchair lift can accommodate manual and motorized wheelchairs (max. capacity 500 lbs). Please contact the Museum at 917.492.3333 or info@mcny.org with any questions.

Join MCNY!

Want free or discounted tickets, special event invites, and more?