Événement passé: Chroniquer une crise: écrivains sur l'histoire du VIH / sida

Quand : Jeudi, juillet 20, 2017, 6: 30pm

Cet événement est passé.

© Frances Roberts / Alamy Banque D'Images

Depuis les premiers cas signalés dans les années 1980, l'épidémie de VIH / sida a incité les New-Yorkais à innover de nouvelles formes de services sociaux, à élargir les conceptions de la famille, à lutter contre la stigmatisation sociale et à pousser à une plus grande intervention politique et médicale. Inspiré par notre exposition, SIDA à la maison: art et activisme au quotidienAnne-christine D'AdeskyDavid France et Tim Murphy—Trois auteurs dont les travaux offrent un aperçu d'une honnêteté saisissante sur l'histoire en cours du virus et son impact — seront rejoints par un journaliste Mathieu Rodriguez pour une conversation sur les défis de l'écriture sur le VIH / SIDA à travers les genres littéraires.

Réception et signature du livre à suivre.

À propos des conférenciers
Anne-christine D'Adesky est un journaliste d'investigation et réalisateur de documentaires qui a rendu compte de l'épidémie mondiale de SIDA Originaire de New York, OUT, The Nation et The Village Voice. Son livre le plus récent, L'amant de la vérole a été publié en juin 2017.

David France est auteur, cinéaste et rédacteur en chef adjoint pour New York magazine. Son film documentaire Comment survivre à un fléau a été finaliste aux Oscars, a remporté un Prix de la Guilde des réalisateurs et un Prix Peabody et a été nominé pour deux Emmy Awards. Son livre basé sur le film, Comment survivre à une peste: l'histoire intérieure de la façon dont les citoyens et la science ont apprivoisé le sida, a été publié en novembre 2016.

Tim Murphy fait rapport sur le VIH / SIDA depuis vingt ans, pour des publications telles que Poz magazine, où il était rédacteur en chef et rédacteur, de stock, Intervenants et New York magazine. Il couvre également les questions LGBTQ, les arts, la culture pop, les voyages et la mode pour les points de vente, y compris Le New York Times, Condé Nast Traveler, Détails. Son roman, Christodore, a été publié en 2016.

Mathew Rodriguez (modérateur), est un journaliste, essayiste et activiste primé, queer, latino. Il est actuellement rédacteur pour .Mic et ancien rédacteur communautaire pour TheBody.com. Il travaille actuellement sur un mémoire sur son père, le VIH et l'héroïne dans le Lower East Side de New York.

Nos Partenaires

Un merci spécial à la Bureau des services généraux - Division QueerHousing Works, Littérature lambda, PEN America, La bibliothèque publique de New York, les Alliance du village et Aides visuelles.

Rejoignez MCNY!

Vous voulez des billets gratuits ou à prix réduit, des invitations à des événements spéciaux et plus encore?

Past Event: Chronicling a Crisis: Writers on the History of HIV/AIDS

When: Thursday, July 20, 6:30pm
Price: $15 & up | $10 for Museum Members
© Frances Roberts / Alamy Stock Photo

From the earliest reported cases in the 1980s, the HIV/AIDS epidemic has spurred New Yorkers to innovate new forms of social services, expand conceptions of family, fight social stigma, and push for greater political and medical intervention. Inspired by our exhibition, AIDS at Home: Art and Everyday ActivismAnne-christine D’AdeskyDavid France, and Tim Murphy—three authors whose works offer a searingly honest glimpse into the ongoing history of the virus and its impact—will be joined by journalist Mathew Rodriguez for a conversation about challenges of writing about HIV/AIDS across literary genres.

Reception and book signing to follow.

About the Speakers
Anne-christine D’Adesky is an investigative journalist and documentary filmmaker who reported on the global AIDS epidemic for New York Native, OUT, The Nation, and The Village Voice. Her most recent book, The Pox Lover was released in June 2017.

David France is an author, filmmaker, and a contributing editor for New York magazine. His documentary film How to Survive a Plague was an Oscar finalist, won a Directors Guild Award and a Peabody Award, and was nominated for two Emmys. His book based on the film, How to Survive a Plague: The Inside Story of How Citizens and Science Tamed AIDS, was released in November 2016.

Tim Murphy has reported on HIV/AIDS for twenty years, for such publications as Poz magazine, where he was an editor and staff writer, Out, Advocate, and New York magazine. He also covers LGBTQ issues, arts, pop culture, travel, and fashion for outlets including The New York Times, Condé Nast Traveler, Details. His novel, Christodora, was published in 2016.

Mathew Rodriguez (moderator), is a queer, Latino, award-winning journalist, essayist, and activist. He is currently a staff writer for .Mic and is the former community editor for TheBody.com. He is currently working on a memoir about his father, HIV, and heroin on New York City’s Lower East Side.

$20 for adults | $15 for seniors, students & educators (with ID) | $10 for Museum Members. 
Includes Museum admission.

Attention, Members, to receive your discount, click on the "Buy Tickets" button above, then sign in to your account on the ticketing page.

Groups of 10 or more get discounts and priority seating, email or call us at programs@mcny.org or 917.492.3395.

Assistive listening devices are available during our events. Our auditorium can accommodate manual wheelchairs, however, our wheelchair lift cannot currently accommodate electric or motorized wheelchairs. Please contact the Public Programs Department at 917.492.3395 or programs@mcny.org with any questions or concerns. 

Our Partners

Special thanks to the Bureau of General Services - Queer DivisionHousing Works, Lambda Literary, PEN America, The New York Public Library, the Village Alliance, and Visual AIDS.

Join MCNY!

Want free or discounted tickets, special event invites, and more?